#1 Zheph

Zheph

Invincible Mech

• Staff
  • 3,440 posts
  • Staff Position:Writer
  • Jagex Name:Zheph

Posted 05 June 2010 - 10:01 AM

Note: The stuff written here is very old and my goals and ambitions have since changed. I can't be bothered keeping a neat first post anymore as I have portfolios floating around elsewhere now that I keep updated.

Posted Image

Greetings! I'll start by mentioning that recently I became adamant that what I truly want to do for a living is to be a CG artist, working in either gaming, film and television or advertising (gaming, preferably, which I'm currently working towards).

The story:
I accidentally got into 3D modeling last year when a group of my friends invited me to start up a team to create games using the open source 3D software: Blender.
We were all beginner's at the program and all aspects of it, so we decided we would choose who wanted to do which part of the game. There was the modeling and programming, while the group was led by the ever so confident and organised Angus.
Prior to that I was interested in becoming a programmer for games, so I chose to do that. But first I needed to get my head around Blender.
So over the weekend we all went home and fiddled with Blender, and on Monday I brought to school a high poly human model, water using an animated normal map which animated in real time, and a floor tile which used a bump map and tiling textures. They decided to make me the head modeler, and I wasn't complaining. I was loving modeling with Blender. I had previously been in a half year 3DS Max course, and could not for the life of me figure out how to use the program. It felt impractical and confusing.

Over the last year I've learned many techniques and tricks to modeling, but had never completed a full project. What you see above is, while very simple, my first fully completed project.

The aim of this thread is to provide me motivation to continue updating it with new things I create.